About CGMS

The Certified Grants Management Specialist (CGMS) was developed by NGMA to provide an industry credential elevating professional standards, enhancing individual performance, and designating professionals who demonstrate the knowledge essential to the practice of grants management. Having the CGMS credential confers formal recognition of professional competency in the full lifecycle of grants management.


NGMA membership is not a requirement to sit for and take the CGMS Exam.  Although the exam is administered by NGMA, the CGMS stands on its own.

Why Become Certified?
How to Earn Your Credential?

Eligibility Requirements
Study and Prepare for the Exam
Take the Practice Test
Take the Exam
Adhere to the Ethics
Earn Continuing Education
What if I Need to Retake the Exam?
I Passed, Now What?

Certification Prices
Current CGMS Credential Holders




Practice Test:

Practice Test
(40 questions)

$50 non-members, FREE to members
CGMS Exam Fee:
(includes non-refundable $75 application fee)

$500 CGMS Exam Fee for NGMA members
$600 CGMS Exam Fee for non-members

CGMS Retesting Fee:

(for those who do not pass the exam on the first try and wish to retest after a 90 day waiting period)
$175 CGMS Exam Retake Fee for NGMA members
$250 CGMS Exam Retake Fee for non-members
CGMS Renewal Fee:
$175 CGMS Renewal/Recertification Fee
(upon 3-year renewal) for NGMA members

$250 CGMS Renewal/Recertification Fee
(upon 3-year renewal) for non-members



  CGMS Resources  
Candidate Handbook   CPE Tracking Form
Frequently Asked Questions   Code of Ethics


“During previous NGMA conferences, grant professionals spoke highly about the opportunity, which inspired me to grow in my profession and obtain the certification when the new exam became available…. It is my hope that having knowledge of the federal regulations will allow me to be a better resource for the grants department and the district as a whole.” (Pasadena ISD’s Stewart earns prestigious grant certification)

- Rikitra Stewart, CGMS